"content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1"
AANP Awards
Each year, the AANP recognizes the incredible and important work its members do with the following awards: The 2019 award recipients will be recognized at the closing banquet of the AANP Annual Convention and Exposition on Saturday, August 17, 2019, at the Oregon Convention Center in Portland, OR.

Nominations are closed. Stay tuned for 2020!.
Physician of the Year

The following selection criteria is used:
  • Leadership: increases the knowledge and level of competence of fellow physicians; increases the vitality of or contributes to the profession of naturopathic medicine; contributes significantly to the policy agenda of naturopathic medicine (e.g. state licensing, national affairs, etc.); and, contributes to naturopathic medicine by writing or through education or some other means;
  • Modeling and Ethics: models the Oath of Naturopathic Medicine; and exhibits the highest ethical standards in practice and service; and 
  • Individual Achievement: a dedicated physician who takes excellent care of patients; a teacher of patients, legislators and doctors/students; and/or has accomplished something unique or creative in the previous year, and/or has a distinguished record of service to the profession over many years.

2019 Kasra Pournadeali, ND, FACN
2018 Michelle Simon, PhD, ND
2017 Amy Rothenberg, ND
2016 Margaret Beeson, ND
2015 Tabatha Parker, ND
2014 Lise Alschuler, ND, FABNO
2013 Denise Clark, ND
2012 Efrain Rodriguez Malave, ND
2011 Shiva Barton, ND
2010 Christine Girard, ND
2009 Timothy Birsall, ND, FABNO
2008 Marcia Prenguber, ND, FABNO
2007 Paul Mittman, ND DHANP
2006 Michael Traub, ND
2005 Todd Schlapfer, ND
2004 Walter Crinnion, ND
2003 Chris Melitis, ND
2002 Joe Pizzorno, ND
2001 Sally LaMont, ND
2000 Tom Kruzel, ND
1999 Tori Hudson, ND
1998 William Mitchell, ND
1997 Konrad Kail, ND
1996 Bruce Milliman, ND
1995 Jane Guiltinan, ND
1994 Rita Bettenberg, ND
1993 Michael Cronin, ND & Kyle Cronin, ND
1992 Durr Elmore, ND
1991 Nancy Aagenes, ND, LAc & Michael Bergkamp, ND
1990 Peter D'Adamo, ND
1989 Pamela Snider, ND & Jared Zeff, ND
1988 James Sensenig, ND
1987 Carlo Calabrese, ND
Champion of Naturopathic Medicine

The "Champion Award" is bestowed annually by the AANP Board of Directors to a non-ND individual who is deeply committed to changing the landscape of the healthcare through his/her championship of naturopathic medicine.

The following selection criteria is used:
  • Honors the educational standards of naturopathic medicine.
  • Serves as a voice to educate and influence health care consumers, providers of all types and/or the media on the positive impact of naturopathic doctors.
  • Demonstrates a commitment to expanding access to naturopathic doctors by advocating the value of naturopathic medicine to government, health care institutions or corporate entities.
  • Holds a vision for the profession and practice of naturopathic medicine that is larger than self, and selfless in nature.
  • Demonstrates through character and actions a commitment to the principles of naturopathic medicine.

2019 Bruce Barlean
2018 Heather Carrie, MAS
2017 Razi Berry
2016 Heather Zwickey, PhD

2015 David J. Schleich, PhD
2014 Laura Farr
2013 Karolyn Gazella
2012 John Weeks
2011 William Benda, MD

The Vis Award honors and celebrates the life and work of Dr. William A. Mitchell, N.D. (1947-2007). Dr. Mitchell embodied the Vis with his passion for life, for naturopathic medicine, for teaching, and for the loving care of his patients. The Vis Award acknowledges persons who represent the Vis, the Healing Power of Nature, as demonstrated through their work, life, and community service. The Vis Award recipients are naturopathic students, faculty members, or clinicians who exemplify the 
Vis Medicatrix Naturae by their understanding and application of the Healing Power of Nature.

2019 Jill Ghormley, ND
2018 Robert Broadwell, ND, LAc
2016 Paul Herscu, ND, MPH

2015 Pamela Snider, ND
2014 Eric Yarnell, ND
2013 Paul Anderson, ND
2012 Mitchell Stargrove, ND, LAc
2011 Louise Edwards, ND
2010 Rev. Steven Bailey, ND
2009 Dickson Thom, ND, DDS
2008 Jacob Schor, ND
Corporation of the Year

The following selection criteria is used:
  • Efforts have promoted the goals, projects, activities and functions of the AANP and naturopathic medicine;
  • Exhibits exceptional leadership in delivering quality products and services to naturopathic doctors and consumers in general;
  • Has contributed a body of products/services to naturopathic medicine which, when compared to their peers, makes this company stand out above the rest; and 
  • Has demonstrated long-term commitment to AANP and our profession.

2019 DaVinci Laboratories 
2018 Standard Process
2017 Natural Partners
2016 RLC Labs

2015 Wise Woman Herbals
2014 Mountain Peak Nutritionals
2013 Ayush Herbs, Inc.
2012 Pure Encapsulations
2011 Emerson Ecologics
2010 NDNR
2009 Integrative Therapeutics, Inc.
2008 NCMIC
2007 Gaia Herbs, Inc.
2006 American Specialty Health
2005 Vital Nutrients
2004 Cancer Treatment Centers of America
2003 Metagenics, Inc.
2002 Thorne Research, Inc.
2001 Bezwecken
Benedict Lust

The Lust Award is a lifetime career achievement award intended to acknowledge extraordinary naturopathic physicians. This award is not intended as an annual award. The profile of a recipient is a naturopathic physician who consistently and throughout his/her career has:
  • Made an outstanding contribution towards the goal of transforming healthcare and distinguished his/herself as a leader in the profession;
  • Been dedicated to the highest standards of excellence and the principles of naturopathic medicine; and
  • Served to advance the goals and ideals of the naturopathic profession in a fundamental and lasting way which has been demonstrated by work that has stood the test of time.

2019 Gerry Farnsworth, ND (posthumous)
2018 Michael Cronin, ND
2017 Jane Guiltinan, ND
2016 Cathy Rogers, ND

2015 Michael T. Murray, ND
2013 Rick Marinelli, ND
1995 Joe Pizzorno, ND
The President's Award is bestowed, as the name suggests, by the president of the AANP. Recipients of the award are those who have gone above and beyond for the profession and therefore deserving of recognition for their work and achievements.

2019 - Walter Crinnion, ND (posthumous)
2018 - Sean Hesler, ND & Sarah Preston Hesler, ND
2017 - Griffin McMath, ND
2016 - Lise Alschuler, ND, FABNO
2014 - Emily Telfair, ND
2013 - Dr. Rick Brinkman
2012 - Mona Morstein, ND
2007 - Janice Lipsen
2006 - Wayne A. Centrone, ND
2002 - Nancy Dunne Byington, ND
2001 - Pamela Snider, ND

True Grit AWARD
The True Grit Award, new to the 2019 award ceremony, was put into place to honor and recognize state leaders or individuals who have perserverd, often at a great personal sacrifice, to advance naturopathic medicine.

Juliette Sweet, ND, President of the NMANP & The NMANP Legislative team
Diana Crumrine, ND, President of the Idaho ANP & the IDAANP team